DAAD, a public-funded, self- governing organization of the institutions of higher education in Germany, promotes international academic exchange as well as educational co-operation with developing countries through a variety of funding and scholarship programmes.

The Collaborative Master of Science in Agricultural and Applied Economics (CMAAE) programme of the African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) is run in a network of 17 participating universities in 13 countries in Eastern, Central and Southern Africa.

The CMAAE Ph.D. fellowship programme aims at building the staff capacity of network universities that may not have adequate capacity in research and teaching at the post graduate level. The Ph.D. should be in Agricultural Economics through coursework, research, and thesis in Sub-Saharan Africa among CMAAE accredited universities within East Africa (Egerton University and the University of Nairobi in Kenya, Makerere University in Uganda, Sokoine University of Agriculture in Tanzania, and Haramaya University in Ethiopia).

DAAD in cooperation with the CMAAE Programme of AERC is offering up to 6 in-country, in-region Ph.D. scholarships in Agricultural and Applied Economics. The objective of this cooperation is to support the national and regional postgraduate training programme offered by AERC.

Deadline for application: 15th December 2020

For further details on the Application procedures and more, download the pdf attached below.

Attachment: Download