Welcome to SOED

Welcome to the School of Education, as we are ready to serve you all. As part of one of the largest and most respected Universities of Tanzania, we lead the way in teaching and conducting quality research, and our motto is to “Gladly Teach and Learn”. All our staff are ready to assist you academically and socially. Karibu Sana!!!!


The School of Education has three Departments and these are:

  1. The Department of Educational Foundations, Management and Lifelong Learning (EFMLL).
  2. The Department of Educational Psychology and Curriculum Studies (EPCS),
  3. The Department of Physical Education and Sport Sciences (PESS).


Each Department is managed by the Head of Department and the School of Education is led by the Dean,


The School of Education currently offers five undergraduate programmes leading to the award of the following degrees:

  1. Bachelor of Education Adult and Community Education – (B.Ed ACE).
  2. Bachelor of Education Commerce – (B.Ed COM).
  3. Bachelor of Education Early Childhood Education – (B.Ed ECE).
  4. Bachelor of Education Physical Education and Sport Sciences – (B.Ed PESS).
  5. Bachelor of Education Psychology – (B.Ed Psy).


The School of Education also provides pedagogical services to Bachelor of Arts (B.A) and Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) with Education students who are housed in the College of Social Sciences (CoSS), College of Humanities (CoHU) and College of Natural and Applied Sciences (CoNAS) respectively.


Besides being involved in the teaching of undergraduate programmes, the School of Education also offers postgraduate programmes. These include:

  1. Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE),
  2. Masters of Arts in Education (MAED),
  3. Masters of Education in Applied Social Psychology (MED ASP),
  4. Masters of Education in Science Education (MEd.Sc.Ed),
  5. Masters of Education Language Education (MED LED),
  6. Masters of Education Management and Administration (MEMA),
  7. Masters of Education Physical Education and Sport Sciences (MED PESS),
  8. Masters of Education Curriculum Studies (MED CS),
  9. Masters of Education Adult Education and Community Development MED AECD) and
  10. Ph.D (by Coursework and by Thesis).


Attachment: Download