The Convocation of the University of Dar es Salaam was established under the University of Dar es Salaam Act No. 12 of 1970. Members of the Convocation include senior officers of the University past and present, all academic staff, current senior administrative staff, and all alumni of the University, including those of its predecessor University of East Africa as long as those graduates of the former University of East Africa are residents in Tanzania.

The Convocation unit at the University of Dar es Salaam strives to expand and diversify the network of its engaged alumni around the world as well as to harness their goodwill to their alma mater. The unit seeks to develop innovative initiatives tailored to engage current students and former graduates of the University of Dar es Salaam. Through an active, coordinated and engaged alumni network, our University can successfully position itself and raise funds effectively. We invite you to become an active member of the UDSM Alumni family.

2018-2021 Leadership and Organisational portfolio of the University of Dar es Salaam Convocation:

  • President of the Convocation: Ambassador: Mwanaidi Sinare Maajar
  • Vice Chancellor: Professor William A.L. Anangisye
  • Secretary to the Convocation: Deputy Vice Chancellor Administration
  • Honorary Treasurer: Mrs Kihunrwa
  • Executive Committee: Governing Board
  • Activities Committee
  • Fundraising Committee
  • Publication Committee
  • DICA: Liaison office and secretariat