Prof. Nelson M. K. Boniface (PhD Kiel, Germany)

Prof. Boniface is an Associate Professor in the Department of Geosciences, School of Mines and Geosciences. He holds Bachelor of Science in Geology (UDSM) in 2001, Masters of Science in Geology (UDSM) in 2004; and Doctor of Philosophy in Mineralogy (Kiel) in 2009. He was promoted to associate professorship in 2020.

Prof. Boniface has served in different managerial positions at the University of Dar es Salaam including Acting Head of the Department of Geology (2015), Head of the Department of Geology (2015 - 2016), Acting Deputy Director of Undergraduate Studies (2016 – 2018), Acting Director of Undergraduate Studies (2018 to 2019), and Director of Undergraduate Studies from 2019 until his appointment to the current position.

Prof. Boniface has published and consulted extensively in the areas of geological mapping, structural geology, magmatic and metamorphic petrology, mineralogy, Geochemistry, mineral resources of Tanzania, and other earth sciences. He is a co-author of the Minerogenic Map of Tanzania and Explanatory Notes published along with the online Geological and Mineral Information Systems of Tanzania ( He has received various academic awards including; Visiting Scholar at the University of Tohoku, Japan; DAAD Visiting Scientist at the University of Kiel, Germany; and DAAD PhD Scholar at the University of Kiel, Germany.

Prof. Boniface is committed to community service and has been involved as Chairperson and Member in a number of key National and International committees and boards including Geological Survey of Tanzania, Tanzania Geological Society, Earth Science Matters, Geological Society of Africa, Geological Society of America, European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers, University of Dodoma, and Dar es Salaam University College of Education Governing Board, Audit Committee, and College Academic Committee. He has worked as researcher with local and international organizations including British Geological Survey International, University of Kiel (Germany), University of Columbia (USA), University of Oslo (Norway), University of Utrecht (The Netherlands), and University of Tohoku (Japan).