College History

In 1964, the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS) was established. It was the 2nd Faculty to be established after the Faculty of Law. Its birth marked the move from the old College premises on Lumumba street to the new campus area at Mlimani. ‘Mlimani’ is the Swahili word for ‘on the hill’. In 2009, FASS was upgraded to the status of a College was now referred to as the College of Arts and Social Sciences. In 2013, the College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) was split into two separate Colleges; the College of Humanities (COHU) and the College of Social Sciences (COSS). The major responsibility of COHU is to provide guidance, organization, and administration of the day to day operations of its academic departments. In particular, COHU ensures that each of its departments work to its maximum potential, enhances interdepartmental collaborations, and promotes interdisciplinary approach to knowledge generation. These collaborations are the hallmark and major traditions that define the excellence of COHU as a teaching, research, and consultancy institution. COHU has six academic departments and one centre, namely the Department of Archaeology and Heritage Studies, the Department of Creative Arts, the Department of Foreign Languages and Linguistics, the Department of History, Department of Literature, the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies, and the Centre for Communication Studies.