Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences- About Us

The Faculty has three departments, namely; Department of Geography and Economics; Department of Languages and Literature and; Department of History, Development Studies and Political Sciences and Public Administration. The Faculty of Humanities offers Bachelor of Arts with Education Degree (B.A. Ed). It operates in two semester system and offers courses related to 8 teaching subjects as per secondary and teacher education systems in Tanzania. From this Faculty, the ARTS teacher trainees obtain specializations in Geography, Economics, History and Political Science (Civics/General Studies). Student teachers doing language specializations attain qualifications to teach Kiswahili, French, English and English Literature.

The Faculty in collaboration with the Faculty of Education offers Masters of Arts with Education, a specialized program that offers teachers an opportunity to specialize in one teaching subject i.e. Kiswahili Literature, Kiswahili Linguistics, Geography, History, Literature and Linguistics and a rich number of pedagogical courses. Our evening M.A Public Administration program provides an opportunity for students with busy schedules during the day to further their education. Soon we will commence to provide a non-education undergraduate degree programs.

We are a home for a newly established Centre for Social and Political Research (CSPR) that promotes collaborative and multidisciplinary research among members of the College and between DUCE staff and research centres and individuals within and outside the country.

We offer short courses in French and Kiswahili languages, i.e. French for Beginners and Kiswahili for Foreigners, teaching Kiswahili as a foreign language. We provide English Proficiency Certification service and translation services in English, Kiswahili and French.