Faculty of Science -About US

Faculty of Science came into existence in 2006 with Dr. Faustine Ngassapa as the first Dean and twenty two Faculty members. Pioneers Faculty members included Dr. Jullius. Mbuna, Dr. Elbert Mbukwa, Dr. Zacharia Tano, Dr David Kacholi, Dr. Neema Mogha, Dr. Gasper. Mwanga, Dr. Zubeda Mussa, Dr. Aldo Kitalika, Mr. Hegespo Mwanyika, Dr. Yohana Msambwa , Ms Magreth Mbwana, Ms Luba Pascoe, Dr. Michael Ryoba, and Ms Cotilde Mathews. The Faculty now boasts of over 75 Faculty members of whom 62 are academic staff, 3 are administrative staff nad 12 Technical  staff. At inception, the Faculty had 1187 students: 258 males and 111 females reflecting a clear attempt to maintain gender Balance. 

The Faculty offers Bachelor of Science with Education programme which aims at producing secondary school teachers in basic sciences and mathematics. The programme requires a student teacher to study two subjects and education for three years if admitted as an A level graduate. Several subjects combinations are offered including biology/chemistry, mathematics/physics, and mathematics/informatics. Ever since it came into existence, the Faculty of Science has produced over 804 graduate teachers serving Tanzanians in various capacities in the education sector.

The Faculty has moved from strength to strength to boast of over 93 publications in 2014/15 showing the vigour within the Faculty as far Research and publication is concerned.

The Faculty has spacious teaching laboratories with 100 sitting student capacity for Biology and Chemistry and 40 student capacity for physics laboratories. These laboratories have the basic facilities for undergraduate teaching/learning.

Welcome to the Faculty of Science at DUCE